This is an illustration of "Cats' Journey to Chosun Dynamics" that I published. Chapter 4 of this book shows different people working according to their status during the Joseon Dynasty. The four occupations or "four categories of the people" of Josun Dynasty. It is a social class according to the occupation of the Joseon Dynasty. These were the sa(gentry scholars), the nong (peasant farmers), the gong (artisans and craftsmen), and the shang (merchants and traders). The four occupations were not always arranged in this order. The four categories were not socioeconomic classes; wealth and standing did not correspond to these categories, nor were they hereditary. In Korean it is called "Sa, nong, gong, sang" (사농공상).
Chapter 4. "four categories of the people" of Josun Dynasty.
- page 4 - 
A shoe master artisans of the Joseon Dynasty.
In the Joseon Dynasty, master artisans who made shoes were called 'Ghatbachi.'
They made pretty shoes with leather and silk.
2018. Digital painting
This book is called "Cats' Journey to Chosun Dynasty" which I published.
It is an historical illustration book that shows the Chosun Dynasty with cute cats as the main characters.
The main characters in this book are actually real stray cats living in my neighborhood.
After published, I had two exhibitions named "The Nyang" with illustrations of this book.
Back to Top